Posted by: Ms. Crackers | October 4, 2008

{ 101 things }

Task: Clean up Facebook list to actual friends and acquaintances

Completed: Saturday, October 4, 2008

Task Details: I originally had around 300 “friends” on Facebook, and I decided that it was time to narrow that down to something a bit more realistic and manageable.  My rule of thumb was this: would the person recognize me on the street, and would I want to talk to them?  Obviously, family is an exception…;) I kept all of my relatives on-list.  Everyone else was under scrutiny.  In the end, I have 97 people on my friends list – some certainly closer than others, some existing in more of a networking role, some that may be under review for a future cut.

It’s actually quite cathartic to clean up Facebook like this, and hopefully I will be cutting down on those annoying application requests from people I barely know.  Maybe this will be the first step in making closer connections to the friends I have, and getting new friends…rather than keeping old high school non-friends on my list, just for the sake of it.

Leave a Reply

Categories