Posted by: Ms. Crackers | November 8, 2008

{ opposites attract }

I’ve always heeded these words of wisdom – opposites attract for great short-term chemistry, but birds of a feather flock together in the long-term.  Mr. Crackers and I are very alike, from our family background, to a lot of our interests.  I would even go so far as to say that we are boring, in the sense that we are very complimentary and there isn’t a huge amount of drama going on in our everyday lives.  I think that having a solid foundation with a lot in common will put you on the road to success in a relationship, so I don’t really mind being a bore.

Attraction, however, is a whole different ball game.

I remember when I was in university, I had just turned 18 and was probably about 2-3 months away from starting my relationship with Mr. Crackers.  I was riding the bus (the infamous NUMBER TWO) down into Westboro, because in those days I enjoyed just taking a random bus somewhere in the city, in hopes of getting to know Ottawa a little better.  As a side note, I was the only one of my university friends who did not grow up in Ottawa that could navigate away from the cozy nook that was our campus.  I believe that my adventures have served me well.
Anyway, on this particular day, at this particular time, my hair was blue, I had 3 facial piercings and I was wearing my straight-jacket jacket.  Yes, no word of a lie, I was one of those people. Sitting near the back and looking out the window, I see movement out of the corner of my eye, and a guy – probably nearing, if not in his 40s – came over to me and stood on the other side of the little partition.

He was dressed in a suit and began eyeing my jacket.  “oh boy”, I thought, “here comes a lecture”.  Instead, he started asking me about the patches on my jacket.  I am an awkward social person at best of times, so imagine me when I’m all weirded out in punk garb, taking a ride on one of the worst bus routes in Ottawa – suffice it to say, I was polite, but not very involved in the conversation.  Besides, when you dress like I used to, you get your defences up pretty quickly when someone approaches you in public.  It’s just a self-preserving habit.

Next thing I know, he’s asking if he can give me his number.  I remember my eyes going a bit wider, my face a bit redder, and mumbling something like, “sorry, I have a boyfriend”.  He walked back to his seat and I kept my eyes glued to that window for the rest of the trip.

Flash forward a few years, and Mr. Crackers and I are discussing that event in all of its awkward glory.  He brings up a good point – what if I was just the type of person he was attracted to?  We began to discuss the subject a bit more, and we had a few questions.  What is someone, say a gal who appeared very traditional, very conservative, was attracted to a guy who looked like her polar opposite.  How difficult would it be for her to approach him?  Would she just assume he didn’t like gals like her?  What if he liked her and it was the same situation?

It’s just very interesting, the law of attraction.  Like how, when I used to go to the bar, there were always guys who would just come up to us and dance with us without any warning…but we were always eyeing the guys who were sulking at the sidelines.

Interesting, indeed.

Responses

  1. OMG, so funny, I was just thinking about this the other day. ALWAYS I have been attracted to lean, squinty, smoking, pierced, tattooed guys with floppy hair. ALWAYS. And yet I am a jeans-and-a-t-shirt good girl who wears glasses and likes babies. And so I never, Never, NEVER got the nerve to approach the guys I was most attracted to, because I always assumed they wouldn’t be attracted to me. Then—THEN—one of the lanky guys I used to like? I found him on Facebook? And he married a GOOD GIRL WHO WEARS GLASSES AND LIKES BABIES.


Leave a Reply

Categories